glob2 doesn't run

Bugs should be reported at https://savannah.nongnu.org/bugs/?group=glob2
This section is read only for reference.
Locked
Silyus
Posts:4
Joined:Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:23 pm
glob2 doesn't run

Post by Silyus » Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:37 pm

Hi, i've a problem with the game, there is my tech info:
Mobile Athalon 64 Ati 9600
Ubuntu dapper drake

I've installed the game with synaptic, and the first time I run it, seems to be all right, so, as usually, i had set up some configuration, and in particular:
1- I did change the res to 1024 (the hightest, i suppose)
2- I did set the OpenGL option
3- I did set the fullscreen mode

After that i had restart the game and the screen turned black, and i was disable to do anything except reboot the machine with the reset button.

I've alredy tried to remove, remove completly, and purge (dpkg -P glob2) but all the time i reinstall the game and try to run it, the screen turn black..

What i've to do?

P.S. i've try the last package and the package present in the standard Ubuntu repository, same result

User avatar
Giszmo
Warrior
Warrior
Posts:261
Joined:Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:23 pm
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Giszmo » Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:42 am

hi

i guess this is an issue with openGL. try deleting the .glob2 folder in your home directory. now when u restart gob2 it will have all default values. try running it form a console so you get error output. try windowed mode so it can't hang your pc.

hope to hear from you so we can fix it.

greetings, giszmo

Silyus
Posts:4
Joined:Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:23 pm

Post by Silyus » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:16 pm

Tnk a lot, it works now.. :)

ah, i'm a java programmer, can i help the dev anyhow?

Elvish Pillager
Warrior
Warrior
Posts:55
Joined:Thu Dec 22, 2005 11:39 pm

Post by Elvish Pillager » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:54 pm

Silyus wrote:ah, i'm a java programmer, can i help the dev anyhow?
You could learn C++. :P
To feed good generals, you need good food. To grow good food, you need good pastures. To capture good pastures, you need good generals.

Silyus
Posts:4
Joined:Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:23 pm

Post by Silyus » Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:57 pm

i know the C++, but i prefer program in java for a lot of considerations :P

User avatar
Giszmo
Warrior
Warrior
Posts:261
Joined:Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:23 pm
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Giszmo » Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:23 am

hmmm... unless you want to do a java-port, best one that runns as an applet from the website i guess java skills are not really needed in this projekt.
but if you are good at java you must be good at c++ as well. so your help is welcome.

greetings, giszmo

Silyus
Posts:4
Joined:Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:23 pm

Post by Silyus » Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:28 pm

Thank you, but as i said, i can program in C, but i don't like it, and i usually don't want to use lenguage that i don't like (as C, C++ or other mid and low level leng) in my free time
However i like this game, it's original and well made in my opinion, so i i'll think about that, i'll let you know if i change my mind
Bye

Locked