problems with globulation2

Feature Requests have moved to http://glob2.uservoice.com
This section is read only for reference.
Ogorter
Worker
Worker

problems with globulation2

Post by Ogorter »

Hi,

I'm new to globulation, I tried it and liked it, but admittedly my main interest is porting it to the 770.

So I did some profiling because currently it doesn't even run smoothly on my 15" powerbook 1.5 Ghz ...

Now I am sitting on a reasonably large patch that helps in different area's:

The main offending problem is drawing, if you use SDL in software the alpha blitting is very slow. So I de-coupled the UI drawing from the rest of the engine, I do have some problems getting the framerate stable if frames need to be dropped. (The internal engine assumes we run at 25 fps, otherwise globs run faster ... however, running without drawing can be done at a speeds of 150+ fps on my laptop.) So I'll need some advise here. Please see somewhat further down.

When using opengl, the main problem becomes the gradient calculation. and then the minimap generation. And then the locate resources from gradient (unsure about how the func is called) ...

So I re-implemented the gradient calculation. I had an idea that would touch each tile only once, turned out the existing algorithm worked exactly the same, except that the code obfuscated everything, and there was no documentation in the code whatsoever. Also it seemed to have been optimized for memory instead of speed.

The re-implementation runs only a little faster, but it did enable me to merge the updateResourceGradient and updateGlobalGradient functions into one.Because the first already calculates some stuff that the second needs, 30% of the updateGlobalGradient was spend in recalculating this (making the first list of x,y coords where resource are located).