Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Bugs should be reported at https://savannah.nongnu.org/bugs/?group=glob2
This section is read only for reference.
Locked
NoSpin
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:00 am

Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Post by NoSpin » Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:28 am

I am having a big problem with making sure certain jobs get done. In certain situations I find that workers will not complete certain buildings and will leave them sitting there. I am also making sure that the number of jobs does not exceed the number of workers. This problem, recently, may have to do with a low number of qualified workers (upgrading a level 2 building). I do know that there are workers capable. I think this problem can only be solved with priority flags or options. We need someway of telling the workers to do certain jobs first.

I made a map that has alot of water. Because of this resources can grow anywhere. This requires players to hack through resources and tame the map. Playing this map will demonstrate many of the limitations and problems with the current AI and user controls. I have included it in case anyone is interested.
Attachments
Wetlands.zip
(258.28 KiB) Downloaded 197 times

K776
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Post by K776 » Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:49 am

Guess what..... beta 4 has just what you need :D

It includes new priority controls, which arn't fancy, but effective. They assign workers to a high priority job before a medium, before a low. You can change the priority in the building setting screen.

Maybe in beta 5 we might see preset priorities. Not sure about this yet.

As for why they wont work, there is also new code that says why they can't come. 5 workers unavailable = 5 already doing something else, for example.

Please try beta 4 when its released (or if you know how to, pull the beta4-rc branch and give it a test).

Enjoy.

quinnteh
Explorer
Explorer
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Post by quinnteh » Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:18 am

So can somebody tell us how to pull beta 4 for modification/compilation in Windows? :)

K776
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Post by K776 » Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:03 pm


NoSpin
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:00 am

Re: Micromanagement and Work Stoppage

Post by NoSpin » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:02 pm

Excellent! Once it is out I will definitely check it out.

Locked