Regarding bug #16391

Bugs should be reported at https://savannah.nongnu.org/bugs/?group=glob2
This section is read only for reference.
Locked
Ahmed Sayed
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:33 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Regarding bug #16391

Post by Ahmed Sayed » Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:14 pm

Hi all,

This is my First contribution here, yesterday i decide something after playing with your amazing game for 10 minute i decide to make it in arabic, but things not become that smooth because of the bug mentioned above, so instead of half hour of work it became :) it became a half day :D

Here is the problem
Arabic chars appears as squares only t, so replacing the the font the the problem but another problem is arabic is RTL actually it is BIDI even if we found a way to solve this problem and inverse the character direction the the problem not solved so after some more work, i got the best solution at least IMO is to use SDL_Pango to render the font yes, so this will solve all trouble maker languages
Arabic my native language :wink: Hebrew like Arabic is RTL and Japanese

of course i tested it in arabic only, i made a very quick and dirty code to replace the new lib here is a result, i didn't even handle the colors in SDL_surface so all will be black in the snapshot

http://www.geocities.com/ahmadsayed83/G ... ion_ar.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/ahmadsayed83/G ... marked.jpg

Those are a snapshot from my own of version of your amazing game. i only translate two words OK and cancel and they appears correctly believe me if you don't understand Arabic and a I marked them with red.

and i need to continue this work any idea's, sorry for long message.

User avatar
Giszmo
Warrior
Warrior
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Giszmo » Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:33 pm

hi Ahmed

great u r doing this!!

i believe there are many arab speakers that don't speak too much english so it helps a lot to increase the playability.

i can't say much about the technical side of it but i'd like to thank you for contributing. do you already have cvs-write-access? maybe we postpone this feature to the next version as now we have kind of a feature freeze and your innovation displays black and might have other issues.

please join the mailinglist as here is where things are going on. also on irc u might meet developers.

i was into the language thing, too but i was not motivated enough to finish my AJAX-translation-file-generator to a point of usability.

greetings, leo wandersleb

Ahmed Sayed
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:33 am
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Post by Ahmed Sayed » Sun Dec 31, 2006 11:57 pm

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your replay, i have not a CVS write access, also regarding problems yes as far as i dig deeper i discover more problems, I already joined the dev mailing list.

Best Regards,
Ahmed Sayed

Locked