hi

For general chat that doesn't fit in any of the other forums below.
fede
Explorer
Explorer

hi

Post by fede »

Hello ppl,
i'm new to this game, have found it in ubuntu repo. It's long time i'm looking for a good rts on linux, and this game is far far better than i would espect!
The main purpose of this game
Globulation 2 is an innovative Real-Time Strategy (RTS) game which reduces micro-management by automatically assigning tasks to units.
could easily be my gamelife profile!
I was addicted to rts since dune2 on 486, my next love for years has been Starcraft.
Sadly last 5+ years quality of this category is really poor. My last game in topic was Warcraft3 (where i still play only mods - aka custom maps) which is hardly involved to micro-management rather a game variety by strats.

I think this new love is going to grow, i found where to put happily some of my few sparetime :mrgreen:

Tonight i discovered that there have been Campaign in older glob2 versions.
Where can i have some info about creating new ones?
I'm not giving promises, my time isn't that much, and prolly my skills not enough... Just for information :roll:

Well.. time to sleep here.
Meet you on battlefields :twisted:
Blizzard SuCKs
Giszmo
Warrior
Warrior

Re: hi

Post by Giszmo »

hi fede,

there are other interesting rts out there. my little brother loves total commander, the successor of total annihilation what had an innovative command queue system at its time.

campaigns got broken through changes in the code. you can recreate them using the mapeditor with its scripting. easiest would be to copy the campaign maps to the maps folder, edit them looking at the script part and create new maps using the same syntax. once those maps are done, copy them back to the campaigns folder and manage campains through the editor again.

if you create something that works well, we will integrate it in the next release as the missing campaigns is something asked for a lot ;)

greetings,

giszmo
Zenfur
Warrior